North Watford Allotment and Gardening Society

Minutes of A.G.M. 2024

Date / Time: Wednesday 1st May 2024

Venue: St Mark's Church Hall, Leggatts Way, Watford

Present: Tom Goulder - Chair

Val Goulder - General Secretary
Dave Rusher - Project Manager
Suzy French - Membership Secretary

Steve Jakeman - Treasurer

Committee Members: James Single, Linda Hallahan Emily Whitbread

Apologies: Lynn Wheeler Visitors: NWAAGS members

The meeting opened with a welcome from the chair.

1. The Chair provided minutes of the last A.G.M. held on 3rd May 2023.

The minutes were accepted as a true record and signed by the chair.

2. Chairman's Report:

- Tom confirmed that he is retiring as Chairman of NWAAGS and declared that he is pleased with what has been achieved during his chairmanship. He thanked everyone for their support.
- Tom requested that a tree be planted next year in Cassiobury Park to mark the 110th anniversary of the Society. He would like the tree to have a plaque and be registered and suggested a yew would be a good choice due to its longevity. Steve said he would enquire at Cassiobury.

3. Treasurer:

- Last year the Society made a loss. This was due to a significant investment in stock which was being sold off by our supplier who has now discontinued trading. Significant funds were also spent in upgrading our security system at Callowland to include ANPR, and also for maintenance of buildings at both sites.
- Trading this year is progressing well and we hope this year will be more profitable

4. Membership Secretary:

248 members and 347 Facebook members

5. Amendments to Society Constitution:

- Proposed amendment to protect Shop volunteers against any physical or verbal abuse, with termination of membership for any perpetrators.
- Society Cheques no longer need 2 signatures: Treasurer or one other authorised Committee member can sign cheques in future.
- Both amendments were approved by votes.

6. Election of Officers:

- Chair: Dave Rusher was nominated by Steve Jakeman and seconded by Brian Walker and Suzy French. Approved by a vote.
- Lynn Wheeler was nominated as General Secretary
- Graham Phillips was nominated as Trading Secretary
- Steve Jakeman agreed to continue as Treasurer
- Suzy French agreed to continue as Membership Secretary
- James Single, Linda Hallahan and Emily Whitbread agreed to continue as Committee Members. All the above were confirmed by votes.

7. New Chairman:

Dave took over the meeting and thanked Tom and Val for their work. He plans to continue moving the Society in a similar direction, to promote the shops as social hubs, to introduce ways of helping disadvantaged people and any plot holders who may need assistance.

Meeting closed at 19.55